The Reason We Moved

I tend to be a little calendar obsessive. I’m a date-driven person… anniversaries, birthdays, first kisses, first glances, everything. For many months, April 28th (our wedding day) was the big end date on my calendar. Then it quickly shifted to September 28th: the opening of Barclays Center.

To some of you, this means nothing. To others of you (Brooklyn friends), it elicits polarized feelings. To me, it was the driving force behind our decision (four weeks from our wedding) to move to Brooklyn 36 hours after returning from our honeymoon. It was an unexpected opportunity and whirlwind that I’m so grateful for.

 

As we’ve settled in over the past few months, our life has had the undercurrent of anticipating this date. I’ve watched my husband go from his first day to his 100th day at work (and this month, his 16+ hour days).  I could not be more proud of him for taking on this position and for handling it with such grace, poise, and diligence. I am a lucky lady.

Tonight, Jay-Z takes the stage at the Barclays Center for the first of eight sold-out performances. I’m not sure if I’ll make it to a show, but I am so excited for this milestone in our first year of marriage. I’m crossing my fingers that Brooklyn will soon discover country music. Lady Antebellum, I’m talking to you.

On an unrelated note, my small group leader pointed out that Barclays Center sits RIGHT  where four different Brooklyn neighborhoods meet (Fort Greene, Prospect Heights, Park Slope (our home), and Boerum Hill). It’s meant to be.

In honor of the arena opening, Jay-Z, our new home, and five months of marriage with my amazing husband (who LOVES to sing this song) … I leave you with, Empire State of Mind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Reason We Moved

  1. Sue says:

    Yay! Exciting day!!!!! Way to go Logan!! 🙂

  2. Cherrise says:

    I sure hope you get to see your husband soon. I don’t think I’d heard a Jay Z until know. Thanks, but I don’t think I’m a fan.

  3. Cherrise says:

    correction, I hope this one is readable, no glasses or contacts in, Anyway I don’t think I’d heard a Jay-Z song until now.

Leave a Reply

