The Little Things

I’m sitting here at a Starbucks off Broadway and 26th Street passing the time between two commitments in Midtown. New York is feeling more and more comfortable, that’s for sure. I walked out of an interview today, over one avenue, and I was standing near Times Square. No big deal, right? It’s weird how there comes a point when even Times Square seems familiar.

When you move to a city like this, there are a lot of things you anticipate changing, but there are also a ton of tiny things you don’t really think about until this become your new lifestyle.

The convenience of a car is not just about transportation. It’s also about storage while you are out and about. Examples: 1) Say you want to go out and run a bunch of errands. You can’t really do that unless you can carry everything. 2) How about when you want to do some freelance work on the hour-long train ride to Yankee Stadium? You can’t, because laptops are forbidden in the stadium and you don’t have a trunk to store it in. 3) Or let’s say you have an interview in the city with just a few hours before you have other plans. Do you have anywhere to store a change of clothes? Not so much, unless you want to carry a huge bag into your interview. So instead you just carry around your heels and suit jacket the rest of the night and wear your Fast Flats. Clearly.

Talking in transit is nearly eliminated. Making phone calls on my commute to and from everywhere was a huge part of my Raleigh routine. Driving from Raleigh to Durham? Perfect 20 minutes to make a call! Driving down to the beach? Perfect few hours to call my Grandma and sing hymns, or call Jess or Kim. Cell phones don’t work on the subway, and even if they did, no one wants to listen to your conversation. You can’t really call people on the way to the subway because after 9 minutes, you’re like “Well, thanks for entertaining me, but I’m heading underground now!”  (My mom is probably the one kind soul that puts up with this treatment). Once in awhile, I’ll call on the other end of the ride, but even then the talk time is limited. And who really wants to listen to me huff and puff as I carry my stuff up to the 4th floor?? Or have the, “Oh sorry about the sirens/loud truck/loud people/loud noises/distractedness!” disclaimer.

You also lose the quality chat time that car rides usually provide with friends/family. I realized this when Logan and I went back to Nebraska and had a 4-hour drive in the rental car. I miss our car conversations, as silly as that sounds, since we spend tons of time together. The subway is so distracting. And so PUBLIC.

Now that I’ve gone over some of the unexpected things that have forced me to change up my routine, here are a few little things that I love.

1) Sitting on the roof with my hubs, drinking beer and looking at the beautiful skyline.
2) Reading. Tons of time to read.
3) Finding out the traditions of a new place. Like that the grounds crew for the Yankees does the YMCA.
4) Being able to help lost tourists on the subway.
5) Walking the Brooklyn Bridge at sunset.
6) When someone asks about my barely-there Southern accent.

Happy Monday, y’all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Little Things

  1. Daddio says:

    Sounds like a new Country Club for sure!

  2. Linda Baker says:

    That view of the skyline…breathtaking! I really do love NYC and am so happy to be reading all about your transition to life as a newlywed in the big city! You are doing fantastic and I am very impressed! BTW, what does your husband do there?

  3. Sue says:

    I love talking to you in segments…..”I’m going underground,bye, bye…” “Hi, I’m back above ground!” 🙂 I feel like I go with you…wherever you are going! 🙂

  4. Jess says:

    I just caught up on reading your blog and I am honored to be mentioned. Fame and fortune, here I come!

Leave a Reply

