The Uprooted Extrovert

I think it’s finally starting to hit me that this is not a temporary move. It’s indefinite. The first few months were filled with newness, looking for an apartment, busyness, visitors, unpacking, etc., but the novelty of all of that is starting to wear off. My blog normally consists of my silly experiences living in a new city, but today I just wanted to “be real,” as my lovely old roommate would put it.

I’ve never lived farther than 25 minutes away from my parents.

I’ve never lived outside of a 30-mile radius. 

My best friends are friends I’ve known for more than 10 years. 

My life has always had this way of transitioning easily, always meeting groups of people that would help usher me in to the next stage: connecting with older UNC students while working at a summer camp prior to my freshman year at college … joining a bible study of other girls in the choir as I graduated college and entered adult life. It’s always been a pretty seamless transition. 

This transition has been a bit different. I have my wonderful, kind, incredibly patient husband, and a smattering of people that I know throughout the city. Yes, I have met wonderful people and am so grateful for that, but I miss the old soft shoe relationships and familiarity of Raleigh.

I know we are supposed to be here and that God has great purpose for this season. Maybe it’s to teach me that my worth and value aren’t found in busyness and in people. Or in a job. Or a google calendar that is jam packed three months out. 

I am going to wait hopefully to see what God has in store for me here, and right now that might just be one thing: contentment. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Uprooted Extrovert

  1. Sue says:

    Well… we miss you too!! Pass the Kleenex!! 😉

  2. Linda Baker says:

    Ah Emily…it’s gotta be hard, no matter how wonderful your attitude has been. NC to NY is a huge change! FL to NC was really hard for me as all three of our kiddos were born there, our church was amazing, I LOVED the beach, and my parents weren’t far away. It took a little while, but eventually NC became home. Finding a church was a huge part of that. Praying for close friendships to develop and lots of visits from familiar faces in the meantime 🙂

  3. Christine says:

    I feel ya. ;( Give yourself plenty of time. *Hugs* from Jersey.

  4. Harriett Elder says:

    Love you Em!! I’m proud of you making this big transition! :O)

Leave a Reply

