Being a Stay-at-Home Wife in Brooklyn

Okay, so I’m not completely a stay-at-home wife.

I’m doing contract graphic design work as much as I can, but essentially, I’m a stay-at-home wife (unless I go to a coffee shop to do my work, which isn’t always worth the crawling internet, paying for a coffee each time, and the crazy people who talk to themselves. There is always one!).

ImageAnyway, it’s funny how living in NYC is pretty much like living anywhere else: grocery shopping, laundry, errands, post office… you get the idea. 

A lot of people have asked if we’ve seen a Broadway show yet, and I get it. I mean, most people who come here for a weekend see a Broadway show, so of course we would have seen one after 2.5 weeks, right?? 

We have to fit in our touristy activities on the weekends just like, well, the tourists.

Confession: I’m dying to take a double-decker, open-top bus tour. 

Here are a few of my observations from being a SAH wife:

1) Nannies: They. Are. EVERYWHERE. I feel like I’m on a movie set or something, because everywhere I go there are nannies. Out walking around, Barnes & Noble, the laundry room… everywhere. This fascinates me because I didn’t really see nannies around Raleigh. I think I awkwardly stare at them.

2) Rain: It has rained more days than not since we moved here. I remember the days when I’d look at the window at work and see the downpours and think, “Geez! Of course it starts pouring as soon as I have to walk out to my car.” If only I would have known. Those 20 seconds of sprinting to my nice, dry car pale in comparison to a mile of walking in a downpour. I haven’t invested in proper rain gear yet, but maybe one of you can learn from my mistakes:

  • Examples of shoes that seem waterproof, but are not: tennis shoes, flip flops, Nine West snakeskin flats.
  • Not all rain jackets are actually water proof.
  • Do not wear jeans on rainy days unless you enjoy the sensation of water soaked up to your thighs.
Image

I did not take this photo, but I love it.

3) Grocery shopping: Getting food is a whole different ball game here. As I learned on my first trip, you should only buy what you can physically carry home. That should be a no-brainer, but I was a little overzealous. When I was about a block from home (after a half mile walk from Trader Joes), one of my bags started ripping. I’ve learned this means that you have to make multiple small trips to the grocery store per week and plan your heavy items accordingly. Orange juice and milk in one trip? No way!

Image

I appreciate you, laundry cart.

4) Laundry: I don’t know if I should even mention this one, because it’s about to get much more complicated. We have a laundry room in our building, so it’s much like dorm living. You know, folding your underwear next to perfect strangers.

In a few weeks, we won’t have a washer/dryer in our building at all, so I’m sure that will bring all new adventures. I do appreciate the handy carts that our temporary apartment supplies.

I’m thinking of searching for a laundry basket that you can strap to your back since we’ll be in a 4th floor walk-up. 

All of these things aside, it has been an adventure to begin living in a city. I’m grateful for the opportunity to be challenged and pushed outside of the routines that I’ve grown so comfortable in. I know this transitional time is a huge blessing and that it’s a luxury to be able to figure out this new season without a demanding job yet. 

Update on the last post: We found an apartment! It is really cute and in a neighborhood full of young families and brownstones. 

I can’t wait to move in, get settled, have my rain boots out of storage, and finally open our wedding gifts!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Being a Stay-at-Home Wife in Brooklyn

  1. Fun fact: Nannies can make bank in Ny.

    It’s true. Had I stayed on as a nanny with the family i worked one summer for up there… I would have made 3x’s what teachers make in a year. True story and that was 5 years ago…

    Have fun being “normal” in NY!

  2. Julie says:

    Emily, I’m loving your updates! It reminds me SO much of adjusting to Istanbul and also adjusting to Louisville as a newlywed. Both places are rainy, don’t seem to believe in washer/dryer hookups, and are impossible to find apartments in! Hang in there – God is growing you in leaps & bounds, and you’ll be amazed at how He provides for you in unfamiliar places. Blessings to you, sister!

  3. Allison H. says:

    This post pretty much covers all of the questions I asked you the other day, and then some (minus your Bachelorette picks). So glad you are learning the ins and outs of big city living 🙂

  4. DeLaine Rabe says:

    Ahhhh I am loving reading your blogs!!! I just close my eyes and pretend I’m there!!!! Bet ur having so much fun!

  5. Cherrise says:

    Just read your blog to dad. We both enjoyed hearing about the city. We talked about you at TEDS tonight. We miss you guys but hearing about your experiences makes me feel closer. Love to you. I am using B and B ipad.

Leave a Reply

