Plates That Touch

No, no… I’m not talking about unloading the dishwasher. I’m talking about tectonic plates.

Exactly one week ago on Tuesday afternoon, I was sitting at my computer minding my own business. Suddenly, I felt the building move a little. That’s strange.

Then I looked at my Tyler Hansbrough bobble head doll and he was nodding at me. Tyler! Why are you nodding at me!?  Then I realized what was happening: we were having an earthquake.

A WHAT!?!? This is exactly why I don’t live in California and why I refuse to visit there. We don’t have earthquakes in North Carolina!

I spent the unsettling minute or so standing in a doorway with my other cautious co-workers pondering these thoughts.

As we all found out later, what we felt was actually a 5.8 magnitude earthquake with an epicenter between Richmond and Charlottesville, VA.

It was felt by people all along the East Coast. People in 25 states felt the tremblor! That quake touched more states than I could ever dream of.

I like to live with the peace of mind that we don’t have earthquakes on this side of the U.S., but apparently that is not the case. I decided to do a little research to scare inform myself.

Other times that North Carolinians have felt the earth move under their feet:

  • The great earthquakes of 1811-1812 in New Madrid, Missouri were felt throughout NC.
  • Between February and April 1874, there were at least 75 quakes in McDowell County.
  • The most property damage in NC resulting from an earthquake was from the 1886 earthquake in Charleston, SC.
  • There were earthquakes in Wilmington, NC in 1884 and 1958. And you guys thought hurricanes were the only threat. Yikes!

I know you west coasters out there think we are wimps, but you should come ride out a hurricane and then decide what you think.

Where can I buy this t-shirt???

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Plates That Touch

  1. When you get that t-shirt… I’ll take one in pink please. Also… that card… behind Tyler… amazing.

  2. Katie says:

    Time out. Did you really stand in a doorway!? Also, there was a small tiny tremor or earthquake of some sort in Rolesville when we were in high school. I distinctly remember my chair shaking when I was chatting on AIM. I’ll look it up.

  3. Caroline says:

    I remember the earthquake in high school! It just felt like the garage door was opening, but it was still something. Obviously not as big as the one last week.

  4. Crystal says:

    I love your blog! You are too funny! 🙂

  5. Haven says:

    Tremblor?

Leave a Reply

