The Nebraska Trilogy III: Time Travel and Stuffed Animals

The last day of my trip out west was spent exploring North Platte, Nebraska (the hometown of my handsome boyfriend) and other areas of central/western Nebraska. His family was determined to give me the full Nebraska experience, and boy did they ever!!!

The day started out visiting the Golden Spike in North Platte. This 8-story tower overlooks  Bailey Yard, the largest train yard in the world at 2,850-acres!!!

I really enjoyed hearing about the history of the train yard, seeing that trains are not something I am very familiar with!

During WWII, more than 6 million soldiers stopped here at the North Platte Canteen and received a warm welcome of donated baked goods from the local women.

After this, we traveled west and crossed from the Central Time Zone into the Mountain Time Zone. It was exhilarating. I must say that crossing into a new time zone might be as exiting as crossing into a new state, if not more s0.

Our next stop was Lake McConaughy (which has absolutely no relation to Matthew McConaughy, to Logan’s mom’s dismay). This is the largest lake in all of Nebraska at 20 miles long and 4 miles wide. It was the result of Kingsley Dam being built in 1941. It is the second largest, hydraulic fill dam in the world.

I was so excited to see so much water!!!!! You can’t even see across the lake. I had no idea that Nebraska had a lake this large, and was tickled to spend time near the water (especially on 4th of July—a Bucci family tradition). Logan’s family must know that the way to my heart is through bodies of water.

If you are a vegetarian, you might want to stop reading now (I’m talking to you, work friends).

That night, we had dinner at Ole’s Big Game Steakhouse and Lounge in Paxton. Over the course of 35 years, Ole hunted on every continent, and over 200 of the animals are mounted around this restaurant. I ate dinner underneath a giraffe while looking across the table at a polar bear. It honestly didn’t bother me one bit, until I ate a rocky mountain oyster. You should Google to find out what that is.

My last evening in Nebraska was spent at my very first rodeo!!! I loved sitting there on the bleachers, taking in the sights (jeans ironed with creases) and trying to understand all of the events. It was a blast!

I have to confess that I found myself cheering for the cattle over the cowboys and cowgirls. That’s okay, right???

That about sums up my Nebraskan adventure. I had a great time meeting tons of new people and experiencing “The Good Life” in a brand-new state.

 

The good news is that in just two days I will be landing in another new state. Hmmm, what could it be?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Nebraska Trilogy III: Time Travel and Stuffed Animals

  1. Did you really eat a Rocky Mountain Oyster? If so, did you know what it was before you ate it?

  2. Andrea says:

    Did you have a “ball” of a time eating the Rocky Mountain Oysters? 😛

Leave a Reply

