The Nebraska Trilogy: Part I

I have an announcement: I was in four states in one day. I’m not talking about the kind of states that are all in a row on a drive along the coast. I’m talking about cross-country states (kind of).

On Thursday, June 30th, I woke up in Raleigh, NC. I stopped by Dallas, TX and ended up in Omaha, NE.

Imagine my sheer joy when we had to drive through Iowa to get back into Nebraska!?!?! It was a big day in my life, in the history of my blog, and in the lives of my hundreds of followers.

How did this monumental day come to pass, you ask???

It was just day one of six days in the lovely state of Nebraska. Who needs beach for the 4th of July when you have seas of corn??

My eyes may or may not be closed in this picture. It simply means that I'm letting the other four senses take it all in!

This was my first visit to my handsome boyfriend’s home state and my first visit ever to the Great Plains.

I won’t hold back any longer on the juicy stuff: Nebraska touches (in no particular order) Kansas, Colorado, Wyoming, South Dakota, Iowa, and Missouri. Six states. Not too shabby.

It’s too bad we couldn’t have visited all of them during our visit! Next time.

Anyway, as we drove from eastern to central Nebraska, the “Great Plains” took on a new meaning for me. I was blown away by how far I could see!!! As a girl who grew up in the rolling hills and towering trees of the North Carolina Piedmont, I’m just not accustomed to seeing so far.

Anyway, this is going to have to be a blog trilogy, because I gathered way too much information to fit in a single post. This is just a preview of what is yet to come, but here are some teasers:

  • An elevator that does not carry people
  • Time traveling
  • Wide open spaces

Have you ever been to the Cornhusker state?

… or worn a hat this snazzy???

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Nebraska Trilogy: Part I

  1. Oh, I’m looking forward to reading parts 2 and 3. I have the feeling this will be amazing 😀

  2. Karen says:

    Great post! I am also looking forward to the next installments. 🙂

  3. two words: crack… head.

    Two more…. LOVE IT.

  4. Cat says:

    Did you bring me one of those awesome hats back? I think I have the perfect outfit to go with it.

  5. stacy says:

    i love the corn cob hat!!! verrrry stylish 🙂

  6. Heather says:

    I am one of your hundreds of loyal followers

  7. Lindsay Mader says:

    Me too!!! Doesn’t corn smell good?? ha!!

  8. Matt Meyer says:

    I think Renee’ was given one of those Corn-heads at a Bridal shower in Nebraska! Love the first installment…

  9. Booch :) says:

    Um… I prefer the Sea to seas of corn. 😉 Looking forward to parts 1 and 2… I’m learning alot!! 🙂

  10. Now, being a native of Omaha . . . When you passed from Omaha into Carter Lake back into Omaha did you do it on Abbot Drive or did you do the scenic route on Locust Street which would have taken you into that wonderful community of East Omaha? The Municipal Airport (Eppley Airfield) ruined it. It was a nice little community of truck farms till the Great Depression. Now it only has a mission, a prison and one of the oldest, largest a decrepit swing span bridges in the world. And by the way OMAHA is a PORT city. There is a PORT of Omaha. Its on the NAVIGATABLE Missouri River and you can take a boat to the Great Lakes or the Gulf of Mexico from Omaha.

Leave a Reply

