The Notorious U.S.A.

I get excited when I hear references to state geography in pop culture. It’s almost like a little reassurance that other people notice and think about these things, too. I’m not the only one!

Anyway, so I’m sure there are thousands of references to states in songs, movies, etc., but here are a few of my favorites so far:

Best Song: Fly Over States by Jason Aldean.

 

Best Dual-State Romantic Moment: A Walk to Remember when Landon took Jamie to the North Carolina/Virginia border because she dreamed of being in two places at once. Wait a second… this date sounds familiar.

 

 

Bestselling Nonfiction Book: The U.S. Road Atlas. I asked for one of these for Christmas in high school and I keep it next to my bed for emergencies.

Best Documentary: How The States Got Their Shapes on The History Channel.

I know that the limelight can take it’s toll on young stars. I mean, just take a look at Lindsay Lohan.

Anyway, let’s hope that the states can handle the pressure of fame.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Notorious U.S.A.

  1. Karen says:

    I am not quite sure I approve of you referencing ‘A Walk to Remember’ on this blog. My favorite state song? Ohio by Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I saw that “how the states got their shapes” show last night. Very interesting!

Leave a Reply

