Meet Virginia

Some women like flowers.

Some women like chocolates.

I, on the other hand, prefer a good state boundary.

Since we were both off of work for Memorial Day, my handsome boyfriend took me on a surprise outing.

At first, I thought we were just going to a local park, but … he kept driving.

Strawberry picking? No. The lake? No.

After about an hour in the car, I was starting to wonder where the heck was he taking me.

Suddenly, he pulled off the road. I looked up, and there it was in all of its glory: the “Virginia Welcomes You!” sign.

He told me to get out of the car so he could take my picture with the sign. I was torn about whether to do the one-hand-up pose (elegant, like Miss America) or the two-hands-up pose (unbridled enthusiasm). I settled for just one.

And yes, I was the creeper getting my picture taken at the border.

After that thrilling moment of crossing the line into Virginia, Logan had planned a relaxing day in Clarksville. It was a cute, little town situated right on the water.

We went to the veteran’s memorial monument there and then had a picnic by the water. The beautiful weather and fabulous company made for an awesome Memorial Day in another state.

 

You can thank this guy for providing some new material for my blog. At last.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meet Virginia

  1. Haven says:

    I think y’all are my favorite.

  2. Karen says:

    What a wonderful way to spend Memorial Day. Sweet boy. 🙂

  3. Tori says:

    You two are adorable. Major points to Logan for such a romantic idea!!

  4. Sue says:

    Aww.. this is great!! 🙂 I should have had Dad stop so I could get my pict taken at each of the borders on the way to Delaware..for your blog!! Next time… 🙂

  5. I like this… a lot. 🙂 Holllllllla LoLo for the brilliant date.

  6. Pingback: The Notorious U.S.A. | States That Touch

  7. Samantha Gorman says:

    This is so cute! I had no idea that this happened! What a thoughtful bf you have:)

Leave a Reply

