Middle Child Idaho

Sometimes on a quiet Thursday evening, I find myself staring at the United States map. After all, it’s the perfect thing to do while I wait for my laundry to come out of the dryer.

Anyway, tonight my eyes settled on the glorious state of Idaho. It’s quite oddly shaped, don’t you think?? Idaho stretches from Nevada and Utah all the way up to Canada. How did that happen?

I’ll tell you how: Idaho has middle child syndrome.

Idaho was formed after all of the nearby states had already established their territories. Washington, Oregon, Nevada, Utah, Wyoming, and Montana had already gotten together and decided what they wanted, and Idaho was left to just go along with them. In other words, Idaho got the short end of the stick.

Typical plight of a middle child.

I can just picture Idaho talking to his parents at night saying, “Utah, Utah, Utah!”

Oh well. I think what Idaho lacked in authority, it made up for in good looks.

Breathtaking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Middle Child Idaho

  1. Karen says:

    I think Idaho is seriously an underrated state. It is gorgeous and I have extremely fond memories of the times I have spent there. Even if it is the middle child.

  2. I love Idaho potatoes. Seriously…

  3. Lida says:

    which begs the question, which child has the only child syndrome?? (not just a rhetorical question; would actually like to know what you think!)

    • emilybucci says:

      Dear Lida…. I miss your probing questions at bible study, but I’m glad I can still have them on my blog. I’ll have to think about this question, but I’m thinking it would have to be Hawaii or Alaska.

Leave a Reply

