Siamese Cities

I have another confession.

There was a time in my life when I didn’t realize that Kansas City, Missouri and Kansas City, Kansas were essentially the same city.

I know, I know… they are legally separate cities with different mayors and everything, but I didn’t even realize that they were adjacent. I thought they just happened to be two cities in separate places with the same name.

A friend of mine lived in Kansas City, MO for six months freshman year of college, and I was a dedicated pen pal. As I wrote her address every few weeks,  I often pondered the name of the city and found it odd that it was named Kansas City, but I managed to carry on with my life.

I can’t pinpoint the exact moment I discovered the truth about Kansas City, but I find it incredibly intriguing. There are a couple of other places like this:

Texhoma, Texas & Oklahoma has a very original name. It prevents the confusion that Kansas City has by not excluding one of the states’ names. Maybe Kansas City should have gone with Kansourri City or Missansas City. Anyway, Texhoma’s motto is, “So Big, It Takes Two States To Hold Us!” which is beautiful because Texhoma has a population of 1,306.

Bristol, Virginia & Tennessee has the border between the two states clearly marked with metal plates along State Street. This city is particularly close to my heart because King’s College (on the TN side) is where I accepted Christ in July 1998.


Istanbul, Turkey is the only city located on two continents. For the geographically challenged, those two continents are Europe and Asia. Istanbul is also the location of a particularly cheesy episode on the last season of The Bachelorette.

So, that’s that. What about you? Can you enlighten me with any more conjoined cities?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Siamese Cities

  1. Sue says:

    Ummm… I think it’s neat we have relatives in both Wilmington, NC..and Wilmington, DE…does that count?? 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    I think Chapel Hill, NC and Carrboro, NC are siamese cities because I never know when one stops and the other starts! And I would LOVE to be a guest author. 🙂

  3. Danielle says:

    thank you for enlightening me on siamese cities! i hope there is an upcoming question on jeopardy about this so i can blow nathan’s mind away. i know i’ve said this before but you are a really good writer! 🙂

  4. Will says:

    I was excited to see that you had posted in your blog over the break 🙂

    Adam and I only managed to get a Welcome to Virginia (it was either Virginia or West Virginia) sign on the way. I was driving most of the way both directions. On the top of “Welcome to the state” signs, you could write a blog post about how utterly boring the sign for Welcome to North Carolina is compared to other states like Virginia and West Virginia (though, that one is kind of like “hey, we have a pretty sign but who really wants to live here?”)

  5. Julie says:

    Your blog continues to enlighten me, Emily. Geography was not my top class in school:).

    Julie

  6. Lida says:

    heh! humorous, yet informative. you should write elementary and middle school geography books, emily.
    glad to see you included Texhoma, as well as its population of 1000!

  7. Jennifer says:

    I absolutely love this blog! It is informative AND entertaining. Now I want to go visit some of these places.

  8. Pingback: OKLAHOMA! | States That Touch

Leave a Reply

