25 Years & Arkansas

Who knew that it might be difficult to keep up the whole “States That Touch” theme when you don’t actually visit any states that touch? I’ve come to the startling realization that I might have to expand my topic slightly. But only slightly.

That's me in the back. Yes, with the hot pink sign. No, you can't see my face at all.

This past Monday, I turned 25 years old. It was a joyous occasion at the tail end of a fun-filled weekend in New York City with girlfriends.

Not to mention that I had a brief celebrity stint on The Today Show followed by 6+ hours trapped in the NYC airports (yes, plural) because of high winds in Raleigh. Happy 25th Birthday to me!!!

Is this plane floating above New York or New Jersey? No one knows, but I'm sure the passengers were curious.

To be honest, I was pretty disappointed that the border between New Jersey and New York is under the Hudson River, and I wasn’t really up for any scuba diving in the freezing temperatures and snow. Or any plane landings on the Hudson for that matter.

Anyway, keeping with the “25” theme, a coworker suggested that I blog about the 25th state to join the United States. So here you go.

Arkansas was the 25th state to join the union on June 15, 1836. Arkansas touches a grand total of six states: Oklahoma, Missouri, Tennessee, Mississippi, Louisiana, and Texas. Also, it is illegal to keep an alligator in your bathtub or push a moose out of a moving airplane in Arkansas. Good to know.

Arkansas = The Big 25th State

Congratulations to you, Arkansas, on being the 25th state to join the union.

Congratulations to me for reaching the quarter of a century mark. I have a feeling it’s going to be a good year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 25 Years & Arkansas

  1. Danielle says:

    Is that your eye I see in the today show screen shot?!? Oh wait, no, that’s just the stupid guy’s hat in front of you.

  2. Karen says:

    Oooooh, The Today Show? In college, I was on Total Request Live with Carson Daily, but never The Today Show. How adult! 🙂

  3. Katie G says:

    I know it’s going to be a great year for you Booch! And I’m glad you warned me – I’ll find another place for my alligator when I visit Arkansas

  4. 25 is going to be a good year boooooch, a good good year. I’ve gotta feelin’ woohooo…

  5. Will says:

    Yay, we’re 25! (well, I’ll be catching up in a month)

    I’m glad you had fun in NYC and that I got to learn a bit about Arkansas 😉

  6. Julie says:

    Hope you had a great birthday Emily! I love your blog- what a clever idea!:)
    Julie

  7. Kim says:

    Didn’t I tell you last year that 25 was good and 24 was no good? You thought it was silly, but I’m older and wiser and know these things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

