Thanksgiving Dreams

I had grandiose plans for Thanksgiving 2010.

On my way to visit family in Delaware, I was going to come in contact with as many touching states as possible.

Alli loves borders.

I had it all planned out: I was going to make my dad stop at every state line and take my photo next to the sign with my mom and the family feline. I’m confident that my family would have been pumped about participating in this endeavor.

The states that touch between North Carolina and Delaware are:

1) North Carolina-Virgina

2) Virgina-Maryland

3) Maryland-Delaware

In addition,  I had big plans to visit the Delaware-Pennsylvania border while the crazies were tax-free shopping on Black Friday.

Unfortunately, my Thanksgiving plans have changed and instead, I will be staying completely within North Carolina’s borders.

Oh well, maybe next year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanksgiving Dreams

  1. Will Steinmetz says:

    Unfortunately I’m the one driving, so I can’t take pictures for you on my way back to Pittsburgh for the holidays next month. Plus, most of the signs on the way I take are above the highway so I’d probably get arrested if I got out of the car and tried to take my picture next to one because I’d have to climb up there.

  2. Keri says:

    What a bummer! You could always take your photo at county lines within the state. =)

  3. Melissa Fallis says:

    you can drive to south carolina … state line is less than an hour from my house 🙂

    • Kim says:

      don’t encourage her Melissa. When she came to Winston – she wanted to us to drive the hour and half to SC & the hour and a half to VA in the same day. 🙂

  4. Aw… You should’ve came to KY!!! with me and Ben. That would’ve been a BLAST. 🙂

  5. Brian Fletcher says:

    If you take the Woodrow Wilson Bridge across the Potomac River on the way to Delaware, you’ll actually cross three borders…from Virginia to the District of Columbia at the waterline, and, after about 1/10th of a mile, from the District of Columbia into Maryland. However, I believe they only have Virginia and Maryland signed.

Leave a Reply

