States That Can’t Breathe

There are 27 landlocked states in the United States. The definition of a landlocked state is one that does not touch an ocean.

It doesn't get much better than this. Feeding the birds with my dad last August. Notice the wide ocean full of water and soft breezes.

Having grown up 2 hours from the Atlantic Ocean, it makes me a little uneasy to think about living in a state that touches no water. In 9th grade, I visited Nashville, TN, and the entire time I remember being painfully aware that we were entirely landlocked.

I started to wonder if people from states that don’t touch the ocean feel, well, claustrophobic.

According to Wikipedia, claustrophobia is typically thought to have two key symptoms: fear of restriction and fear of suffocation. I’m not necessarily scared of being suffocated in a landlocked state, but restricted? Most definitely.

The definition continues to read, “A typical claustrophobic will fear restriction in at least one, if not several, of the following areas: small rooms, locked rooms, cars, tunnels, cellars, elevators, subway trains, caves, airplanes and crowded areas.” I’m shocked that landlocked states isn’t part of that list.

I’ll write in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to States That Can’t Breathe

  1. Will says:

    Emily, that’s great. So does that landlocked list count states that touch any of the great lakes or does it exclude them since they’re touching water?

  2. Cat says:

    I think I need to move to a landlocked state seeing that I don’t like the beach. I think the landlockedness brings about some type of security for me. I don’t have to worry about being attacked via the sea.

Leave a Reply

