Bordergate

There is a mystical place that exists exactly 1,935 miles from my doorstep. What is this place, you ask?? The Four Corners.

The Four Corners is the only place in the United States where four states come together in one place. I have never been to this border mecca, but I dream of the day that I can be in four states simultaneously.

Amidst intense research on this subject, imagine my horror when I came across this tidbit: On April 20, 2009, the J-Walk Blog reported that the Four Corners Monument marker is 2.5 miles off.  The site reported that the location was inaccurately surveyed by the government in 1868 during the initial survey of Colorado’s southern boundary.

I was crushed. Was my dream a lie?

While I wallowed in my discovery, my coworker researched further and found the light at the end of the tunnel (Thank you, Stacy Lynch!).  She found an article, published May 15, 2009, that explains the discrepancy and confirms that the monument is, in fact, in the correct place. There is even a podcast explaining the subject. After 25 intense days of uncertainty, Bordergate was solved.

Crisis averted. My dream is still a possibility. It’s a good thing I signed up for yoga, so I can work on my stance for when I make my appearance at the Four Corners.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Bordergate

  1. I love this… can I accompany you on your trip to mecca?

  2. Sue says:

    Which 4 states are they?? 🙂 Sorry… I didn’t get A’s in Geography!!

  3. Logan says:

    I think this blog is too insensitive toward states that don’t touch any other states. What about those/that state? Where is the love for it’s unique situation? Utah, Colorado, Arizona, and New Mexico get to meet each other uniquely in one place. How do you think this makes the people of Hawaii who are passionate about state borders feel?

  4. Bethany says:

    i love this blog and have for a very long time, now.

    but imagine MY horror this morning, as i snuggled up with my blanket and cup of hot coffee for my favorite time of day. i get to the end of your latest masterpiece & for the first time start to feel like i’m being lied to. i’m seriously sitting here in disbelief, expecting ashton kutcher to jump up from behind my computer screen… ?!

    what tipped me off, you ask? well, because i know you, and you would NEVER sign up for yoga?!

  5. Cat says:

    I lived in Arizona when I was a kid. We never went to the Four Corners. This clearly demonstrates the lack of joy within my childhood.

  6. Kim says:

    I would like to accompany you on this trip to four corners. Reunion week-end 2011?

  7. Jill says:

    To the 8th grade girl who swore she would never do back-bends again, I would like to be present when you attempt a back bend while being in 4 states. Who thought this day would come?

  8. Sethicus says:

    I’d vote for the next discussion to be on how many states touch Alaska!

  9. Will says:

    Oh Emily, I totally needed that to make my day more entertaining. See, if you lived in Springfield on the Simpsons, you’d get to see what 5 states touch there. (You’re welcome for the future blog post idea :P)

  10. Pingback: OKLAHOMA! | States That Touch

  11. Pingback: The Mile High City | States That Touch

Leave a Reply

